A Morning of Bureaucracy

Monday was a morning of bureaucracy for yours truly.  I was finishing the process of renewing my visa, and I had to be present when Jenny registered Tony for primary school.

I first went to the Hui Shan Education Bureau.  Someone there had to see me.
IMG_2189Going to the building that the Hui Shan Education Bureau in was a revelation to me.  I didn’t realize how big the place was.  You see, I pass it all the time as I make my way home to the California Villa (You can see the turrets of the complex in the photo above).

IMG_2191Standing around while my wife talked to some guy sitting in his numbered office (there was no indication what the fellow’s purpose was), I had to keep myself occupied.  Hence the photo above, showing me hanging around in the corridors of bureaudom.
IMG_2192

The photo above show the nice view one can see from the long corridors.

IMG_2196Above, parents crowd around the desk of an official in order to register their children for primary school.  I had to be here because my mere appearance can make things work smoothly in the Chinese bureaucracy.

IMG_2198

 

I took this photo of classic Chinglish at the Police Station.

About wuxiandis

An English Teacher in Wuxi, China. Married to a local girl. Father of a boy born August 23, 2007.
This entry was posted in bureaucracy, Chinglish, Hui Shan, Police Station, primary school registration. Bookmark the permalink.