Everything is winding down. W is a Dog! Got to stay away from the pub. Jukebox.

Saturday night will be CNY eve.  The school will shut down early that day.  I have no plans for that evening.  I hope I can get a game of Mah Jong going or be able to join one..
 
Sunday, it looks like one of the students, Arvin,  will take Corina and me to his home to the countryside to observe CNY activities there.  All that can be seen in the city will be crowds of shoppers and browsers.  In my mind’s eye, I imagined CNY festivals and parades with the spectacle of dancing dragons taking place on Zhongshan road.  Nothing of the sort happens.  Most Chinese stay home, watch tv, and sleep.  For fun, they go shopping.  I may also go to Shanghai for one day.  The more affluent Laowei have fled the country for the interim.
 
I just learned that former president Bill Clinton and current president Bush were born in the year of the Dog.  This famous person/year-of-the-animal angle is something I never thought to use to my Speaker’s corner.  I will be talking about it in my two SPCs today, oh boy!  I have also heard something about how the Year of the Dog is considered fortuitous for marriages because the following year of the Pig is considered a good year in which to have babies.  I wonder what year Helena was born in.  Her decision to not marry now may be rash.  As well I wonder about the animal year of Mark, Tom, Gary, Niels, Arnis, Aina,………………………….
 
I have a beginner private class one at 1300.
 
With the approach of the Lunar New Year, I will resolve to try to again keep some of the resolutions I made for the Solar New Year.
 
My father, who reads my blog, abmonished me, in an email, for going to the Pub so much.  I took his advice yesterday and stayed home.  I cooked myself some pasta with fried vegtables.  I watched the second DVD of the set for the second season of Lost I have.  I love having the two DVD players.
 
Some girls from the Filipino dance troupe are setting me up on a blind date. 
 
Check out the new Jukebox.  Be sure to turn off the player at the bottom of this page first.

About wuxiandis

An English Teacher in Wuxi, China. Married to a local girl. Father of a boy born August 23, 2007.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Everything is winding down. W is a Dog! Got to stay away from the pub. Jukebox.

  1. Adam says:

    How many episodes of Lost Season 2 do you have? I have 9. If more are out let me know. I’m hooked on the show…

  2. tom says:

    Can’t wait for our blind date. We can watch Brokeback Mountain together. I need some amyl nitrate, though. Waiting for you, baby boy. All my love, Big Wilson xxxxx

  3. Helena says:

    I was born in 1979 – the year of the Sheep

Comments are closed.